GIS in my pants [June 30, 2016 | 3:22 p.m.]


Monday's I travel to West Houston for work.
This Monday was no different. My commute with traffic is about 45 minutes. This Monday I arrived at 8:05 ish not bad I don't usually get in before 8:10; 8:20 if it's our WHO location. Found out my boss was at the coveted annual convention, around noon.
I'm a GIS analyst. I analyze geographic data for the feasibility and constructibility of natural gas and petroleum pipelines. I gather data, evaluate and recomend preliminary pipeline routes, I create tables for engineers to further design and engineer the pipelines, and I create mapbooks. My hilarious colleagues sometimes refer to my work as... Coloring. I even received a set of crayons from one of our highest profile clients on a site visit I couldn't travel to due to my department being bowed up on work last year (before the oil and gas crunch). There is one particular colleague who reminds me so much of you because of her sense of humor. One day she says you're a GISer, (read jizzer), everyone on my side of the office began saying I'm a GISer... It just stuck. So I'm no longer a boner, rather a GISer.
Hilariously enough a client a few weeks ago started saying "what is this GIS" (again read jizz) is it like CAD? GIS?

| The Coast>

Home | Older | Rings | G-Book | Profile | Notes | Static